Aloha, everyone!

I registered for the “How to Teach Online 2013” MOOC a few days ago. Opening day is Monday, September 2, 2013, and I’m looking forward to working with all of you.

I’ve been teaching completely online courses at KapCC for a while, and I’m interested in both the MOOC movement and the emphases and approach in the LCC MOOC workshops.

I took the previous workshop and thoroughly enjoyed it. The resources and activities were not only thought-provoking and informative but practical and relevant. The staff and other participants treated everyone like colleagues and fellow learners rather than neophytes, and this approach proved engaging.

I learned that MOOCs aren’t like traditional workshops where all I have to do is show up. To get the most out of it, I had to participate, and in the online environment, this meant not only reading the material posted by others but actually posting in discussions and in colleagues’ blogs as well as in my own blog.

I’d suggest signing up for the “Letter of Completion and Badge” option. For me, it was the motivation I needed to regularly log in and participate.

-Jim

P.S. Here’s a TED Talks video that I found inspiring:

This entry was posted in tomooc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aloha, everyone!

  1. Rachael says:

    Hi Jim! Welcome back! I recognized your avatar. :0) You were such a great contributor in iFacilitate and I enjoyed reading your thoughtful posts. I’m glad you enjoyed iFacilitated and that you’re with us again. We have an even bigger community with over 200 people so I hope it will be an even richer experience.

  2. JimS says:

    Aloha Rachael! Thank you for your guidance and knowledge sharing in iFacilitate. I learned so much, but I know there’s a LOT more to learn. I glanced through this morning’s How to Teach Online newsletter and am impressed by the wide range of participants and their posts. “Dynamic” is the word that comes to mind. I’m looking forward to another exciting and fun experience. -Jim

Leave a Reply

